Once licensed in North Carolina, you are considered a “provisional” broker until you complete the three 30-hour courses below. You have 18 months from the day you were licensed to complete them or your license will be deactivated. You can take them all at once or in succession, and in any order.
Broker Relationships and Responsibilities
Topics include a broker’s legal duties to clients and customers, agency relationships in residential and commercial sales, commercial property management transactions, working with buyers and sellers, transactions in progress when a broker leaves a firm, and license status and education issues.
Contracts and Closing
Provides an overview of contract law, including sales contracts, closing procedures and statements, post-closing duties, and the termination of an agency relationship
NC Laws, Rules, and Legal Concepts
Reviews the laws and regulations of commercial brokerage, residential property management, land use, loan fraud, licensing, fair housing, and foreclosed properties
What does it take to be a Broker-In-Charge?
To become a Broker-in-Charge (BIC) in North Carolina, you must work in real estate full time for the equivalent of 2 of the past 5 years. You must submit the required paperwork to NCREC, then complete their 12-Hour BIC course. For more information about becoming a BIC, contact NCREC.